top of page
Search

How I stopped an ant infestation in 1 day





It started with just a few ant sightings. One here, two there, and I wasn't particularly worried about it to be honest. There wasn't any food left around for them, and I keep everything clean, so they must have been passing through. Right?


Wrong. Oh, so wrong.


I walked into my kitchen one morning, and boom! Full on ant party. The walls, counter, floors, trash can... all of it, covered in ants. They had to go, immediately.


So, my friends, here is exactly what I did:


  1. I did NOT crushed them, or step on them. They have a scent that they leave behind when they are crushed, which attracts more ants.

  2. I remembered hearing that Windex would kill the ants, so that is exactly what I went for. It definitely killed them, but more just kept showing up.

  3. After exploring the interweb, I tried soapy water (using dawn dish detergent in this case) in a spray bottle. They hated it, and died much quicker than they did when I used Windex.

  4. Next, I just left them. It took everything I had not to clean up the ant carcasses, or to dry up my soapy floors.

  5. Every time I saw a new ant, I sprayed right away. Excessively, if you ask my husband.

  6. I put the bottle to "laser shooting mode", you know the one, and sprayed into ANY crack or hole I could find. I sprayed the baseboards, door frames, counter-tops, EVERYTHING.

  7. Again, I left it. I let the soapy spray dry on every surface, re-sprayed, and let it dry again. It was an all day event.

  8. Finally late that night, I cleaned. I mopped (which was not as bad as I thought it would be - suds!). Cleaned the counters, walls, anything that I could think of. I did't want any scents left around for more ants to follow.

Honestly, I am surprised at how well it worked. The next morning, no ants. I've seen one or two here and there, but I spray them immediately and we've never had another problem.

251,248 views7 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page