top of page
Search

Easy changes to make your home cozy & inviting

Updated: Jun 18, 2020


Allow me to set the scene:

Here we are in the middle of a pandemic, we're all losing it, we're all home - at least my family is. We're in our third (not a typo) house in a month, after moving across the country. I mean, really?

I'm a type-A personality, and normally curtains would be hung on day one, and the photos would be hung lovingly and thoughtfully - instead, they were packed away while I tried to muster up any feelings of home.


I've always loved the feeling, the comfort, of home. And at this point, I was craving it - not only for me, but for my family. So without further ado, here's how I brought that cozy, welcoming feeling back for my family in just a few days (thank god for prime) with a small budget.


Hang photos & art

Explore the world of Pinterest for gallery wall ideas, or just put a few things up here and there. Display something that makes you happy - something that will bring you joy when you see it.

The top photo shows actual "paintings" that my family did during quarantine, they're a little reminder to always grateful for what we have, and I love seeing them everyday.


Look for something original and inspiring, something that speaks to who you or your family are.


Plants

I am a firm believer in the need for house plants. They clean the air in your home, increase humidity, and absorb toxins. They can be therapeutic, boosting your mood and overall well being. I've found that indoor plants are easier to care for, but that's not to say I haven't killed a few over time. If you really have a brown thumb there are tons of easy to care for options, think air-plants - not only are they eye-catching, you can put them almost anywhere and they basically love to be neglected.



Aroma - make it smell amazing!

What's your favorite smell? Would the scent of lavender, fresh pine, or baked cookies give you a sense of comfort? Aromatherapy is no joke friends! I use Air Wick plug-ins in the areas that we pass through most often. Keeping them turned to the lowest setting makes them last longer, and keeps them from getting overpowering. Candles in the late afternoon and evening, are my absolute favorite. There is something so comforting and tranquil about walking into a room with a great smelling candle. If you don't like the idea of a flame, wax warmers are just as great, and usually what I opt for when the kids are running around. Another option is to invest in an essential oil diffuser to fill your space with great scents that could actually be beneficial. I love to mix different oils to create a unique smell that matches my mood or the mood i would like to be in. Lavender at bedtime, lemongrass and peppermint in the morning.

Update: After doing a deep dive into the chemicals found in scented plug-ins such as Air Wick and Glade, I no longer use them. Most candles that I had been using were filled with the same harmful ingredients. Instead, I now opt for all natural candles and primarily use my essential oil diffuser. I recently wrote a small post about how I use my diffuser, and enjoy it's aromatherapy benefits - read it here.

Add texture

Hang curtains on your windows. Hang them tall and wide to make your room feel larger. Curtains have this way of completing a room while adding texture, style, privacy and helping you control the lighting. Do you have a few small blankets? Put them somewhere in the living room or over a chair to make them easily accessible for movie night. Rugs will not only make your space look better, think of the physical comfort that a rug can add. Check out this super cute runner that I've had my eye on.

I'm glad that I got over my slump and finally made this house into a comfortable home, bringing back that feeling that I've missed to much. It doesn't happen overnight, so keep a look out for something that catches your eye, wait for that sale, and just start working on it a little at a time.


 

As an Amazon Affiliate, I may earn money from purchases made through my links, with no extra charge to you. Amazon just gives me a cut, for sending you their way. Don't worry, I will never advertise something that I don't truly like.

 


614 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page