top of page
Search

How I use essential oils to make my home smell amazing

Updated: Jun 18, 2020



Aromatherapy - A quick & very basic rundown

Aromatherapy, which has been used for centuries, is a technique based on using essential oils to improve your physical, emotional, and spiritual state. Aromatherapy is thought to work by stimulating smell receptors in the nose, which then send messages through the nervous system to the limbic system — the part of the brain that controls emotions.

  • Relief from anxiety, depression, and agitation

  • Improve quality of life, particularly for people with chronic health conditions

  • Improved sleep

  • Improved mood and productivity

Using essential oils at home is an easy, natural way to promote wellness in your surroundings.

They can be used to make household cleaners, deter pests and insects, add to your self care routine, or to make your home feel and smell amazing - boosting your mood.

 

I never put much thought into the health risks associated with products used to freshen up and improve the smell around the house until I did a deep dive into the world of essential oils. Candles for example can be hazardous - containing toxic chemicals, such as benzene and toluene which can sometime cause respiratory issues. While I can't stay away from candles completely, I've started opting for the all natural options, which are more expensive than what would normally grab in the grocery store. I've stopped using scented plug-ins and room sprays for the same reason.

Enter the world of essential oil diffusers


After basically writing off my typical go-to products, and doing a little research- I invested in an essential oil diffuser and a few new oils. An oil diffuser just made sense to me, what do I want to be breathing in? Natural oils from nature, with ingredients that I can pronounce, or chemicals?

Keep in mind that not all essential oils are created equally. Since they've become more popular, cheaper alternatives of lesser quality have been flooding the market. When shopping for an oil, make sure to check the ingredients.


The diffuser quickly became my absolute favorite way to use essential oils - and it still is! My house always smells amazing and feels comforting while echoing my mood with the scents I've chosen to lean on that day. One of the best parts is playing around with different mixtures of oils, and discovering something totally unique and amazing. When I have a cold, I fill my diffuser with eucalyptus and put it right next to my be at night. When I'm sleepless, restless, or anxious, lavender with chamomile are where it's at (right after a bath mixed with the same oils).

Here are some "recipes" that I use on the regular


Mixing oils to create an ambiance that you're wanting isn't a hard feat. There are tons of ideas and recipes on Pinterest that will get you on the right track. If you're not up for mixing or investing in a variety of oils (especially at first), there are pre-made blends available, many of which I am a huge fan of.


Give it a try, and be sure to let me know what you think! If you're already using essential oils - I would love to know how you put them to good use or what your favorite blends are.




632 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page